James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Story #2 – no friends PLUS girl problems…

Just got back from a week+ vacation where I did absolutely zero writing.  It was awesome.  Of course, I had a lot of time to think about the next chapter in Story #2 and today I had to sit down and get it out of my head… a great chapter that I spent a lot of time mulling over in my head.  This chapter has the hero going out for pizza on a date but it doesn’t end well… at all.  Not only does he not have much in terms of friends at the new school, but the girl he likes (and she likes him, too) is now upset.  Typical teenage drama and great for this chapter.

Hoping to get back into the swing of things tomorrow by tackling a revision of the next chapter in Story #1… and maybe get to ch11 in Story #2… but I also have an article due (2000 words) by Friday that I started today but didn’t even get 1/4 done… so tomorrow that’s on the agenda.  Gotta. Get. It. Done.

The contract approval on the new non-fiction book is with the editorial board now and I’ve been told to expect a yes/no answer by end of week… but also to expect a yes.  They want to do this book, so I can’t imagine what it will take for them to say no… but it has happened in the past, so who knows?  I’d really like to do this book as they’re giving me 5 days per chapter (when all I really need is 2 or 3, max) – this means the book will get done early and maybe even out the door by year’s end… but only if they get me moving on the book soon… like by mid Sept.

Anyway, stats and progress bar for Story #2 today only – check out that big ‘ol 35%!  Over 1/3 done with the new book – woo hoo!

Novel #2 – Draft 1
Ch10 – 11 pages – 2636 words
Book – 97 pages – 24684 words

August 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

