James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Draft 2 – Chapter 2 – Crash and ????

Finished the rewrite of Chapter 2 – I’m continually amazed at how utterly WRONG and BAD the original Draft 1 Chapter 2 was… but that’s hindsight, of course.  Now that I know better how the story resolves, I’m able to go back and cut out the stuff that should never have been written in the first place.  The writing is tighter, the dialogue is more “real” and moves the story forward without getting “explain-y” – does that make sense?

Chapter 1 ended with the hero picked up in a chopper… Chapter 2 ends with that helicopter crash landing.  In between, portions of the major plot were provided during discussions and flashbacks.  All in all, I’m very happy with the speed at which the book is now moving forward… getting the hero into the thick of things.

I’ve got a busy weekend planned with my 3 year old and newborn and wife… so no writing this weekend.  But that’s okay – I’m quite happy with the way my writing has been going, with me not working on the weekend.  If I can continue to revise a new chapter every 2 days, I should be able to rewrite this story in maybe a month… or just a bit longer.  The book should move from 30 chapters to maybe 15-20… with each chapter being a bit longer as I’m combining much more from the Draft 1 chapters into longer chapters for Draft 2.

Today’s scorecard and Progress Bar – it’s awesome how fast that bar is growing now compared to Draft 1… already hit 12% with just the first 2 chapters.

Jinx: Trial by Fire
Book 1 of The Prototype War

Draft 2

Chapter 2 Revision – 100%
Chapter Pages: 8
Chapter Wordcount: 2192

Book Pages: 33
Book Wordcount: 9070

July 16, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

