James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Monday… and a NaNoWriMo update

No work today on the fiction story – I’ve got to leave shortly to go and teach a class on NXT-G programming (for LEGO MINDSTORMS robots) to a large group of teachers at a technology conference.  I spent some of the weekend getting my notes together and all of this morning collecting my various files and slides…

It’s funny because I woke up this morning itching to get to work on my story – maybe I’ll do it tonight.  The part that’s surprising is that I’m now a  little miffed that I probably won’t get my 1000-1500 words (or 2000?!) in for today.  My most productive time is between 11am and 4pm, so I’ll likely just postpone until tomorrow.

I got an email from a friend wondering if I was going to sign up for the National Novel Writing Month program that runs every November.  In a nutshell, you write a 50,000+ word novel during the 30 days of November.  A lot of people participate, and most of the novels never see the light of day, but quite a few have made it to publication.  For me, I don’t know… 50,000 words in 30 days doesn’t sound bad… it’s about 1700 words per day which I could do if the motivation was there.  But it’s writing EVERY day!  You can take off weekends, but it just means you need to bump up your daily quota to 2500 words per day (20 writing days).  I like checklists and setting goals, but I also get very down when I don’t meet my goals.  This 50,000 in 30 days is a HUGE effort, and I don’t even know if I’ll be involved in a non-fiction project at the time.  I’ll wait and see how my schedule looks as November gets closer… it would be fun to participate simply to be able to say I did it, but I also know I’m fully capable of finishing book projects so I’ve got nothing to prove…

My wife has a friend – her friend’s brother just published his first YA novel.  He’s a school teacher (English, I think) and writes on the side.  I haven’t read the book yet, but I do want to check it out.  I love hearing stuff like this… it helps me to stay on track and keep plugging away.

June 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

