James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

I like Mondays…

Given that probably 90% of the world hates Mondays, I figure I’ll give poor Monday a break and embrace it.  After a weekend, I’m typically jumpy and anxious to get back to writing.  Whether it’s fiction or non-fiction, I don’t dread my work, so I guess I’m lucky there as I find that most friends and family seem to dread Mondays and going back to work.

Today started off nicely as I received a few emails from my editor telling me that the proposal for my iPad book was in the hands of the “higher ups” for approve/disapprove.  I spent part of Sunday adding more content to the proposal that was requested by said editor.  All in all, I’m very happy with the proposal and I can see how it’s developed over the last month… compared to that first proposal, this one is much tighter and focused than my previous proposals.  I’m hoping that will make it easier to write as I was forced to provide much more detail about the layout and content that will go into each chapter – with other proposals, I tend to have a sentence or two defining the purpose of a chapter (what will this chapter teach the reader?) and then I write the chapter later and make it up as I go… not this time.

So, after a few bits of business with my editor this morning and a couple of email responses for a few other books/projects, I got to work on finishing chapter 12 of the fiction story.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, this is scifi mixed with some military style weaponry in a modern day setting… that still doesn’t prevent me from making up some cutting-edge stuff, so today’s conclusion to ch12 found the hero being chased by these mini-helicopter devices carrying, what else… mini-missiles.  They’re remotely controlled, so the hero is definitely in trouble and still doesn’t know who is chasing him persistently… just some shadowy organization that he’s been given the barest of information about…

Got over 1200 words down and crossed the 100 page mark, so I’m pretty happy about that.  This chapter was a like one big chase scene with explosions and missiles and lots of dodging, and it was fun to write.  I already know there’ll be some serious cleanup and rewrites after Draft 1 is done, but I think I got the basic order of events down on paper… uh, screen.

Given that I’m unlikely to hear about the iPad book until later this week, I’m hoping to get ch13 and 14 done this week – according to my outline, ch15 is where a major change in the story takes place, and I’d like next weekend to ponder it before getting moving on it on Monday.

Today’s scorecard:

Word’s today: 1265
Words total: 24223
Current Chapter: ch12 – finished
Pages written today: 6
Pages total: 102
Chapters completed: 12

May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

