James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Never liked heights…

So, the hero did manage to escape… for about thirty seconds… but now he’s falling from around 200 feet up.  Of course, it’s only chapter 10, so you can guess that he’ll survive this.  But the bad guys have managed to find him, so he’s got a bit of a fight coming up before he can get moving again.

I’ve hit 10 chapters completed and almost 20,000 words… doing the math, an 80,000 word novel will be around 40 chapters… which is about what I expected.  I had about 30-35 planned out, so some will go long or I’ll have to add a few in to get the wordcount needed before finishing Draft 1 and moving on to Draft 2.  That reminds me that I really need to investigate the current pagecount/wordcount of most modern YA novels… it changes with the times, so I want to make sure I’m on target.

I also got a request today for a sample chapter on the iPad book – this is good news and bad news.  Good news because it means they see something promising in the book but don’t quite understand how the chapters will flow and the language/style it will be presented in.  The bad news is that it’s a delay in getting a contract, it takes a few days or a week to get that sample chapter written, and it likely means more eyes on the sample chapter as they float it around for other opinions. I’ve never had this much trouble getting a book proposal accepted… oh well.

I wouldn’t say I’ve developed a daily habit of writing, but I’ve definitely improved a bit on finding the motivation to get writing each day.  I’m still hoping to reach that point where it becomes a MUST write today versus SHOULD write today.  Still… I’m pretty happy with the fact that I’ve been able to meet my 5 pages per day quota on average.  Just need to keep doing it… every day… until it becomes a habit.

Today’s scorecard:

Word’s today: 1338
Words total: 18060
Current Chapter: ch10 finished
Pages written today: 5
Pages total: 78
Chapters completed: 10

May 13, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

