James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

When we last left our hero…

Took a break from writing over the long Easter weekend… went home Friday to Monday and got a little behind on work.  So, first thing this morning, I got Chapter 21 revised for the NXT-G book so I could get to work on two things – Chapter 4 of my fiction book and a draft Table of Contents for a possible new book on the iPad.

The iPad book is something I’m hoping for… I bought mine over the weekend (a friend actually picked it up so I didn’t get it until Monday night) and have been playing… I mean working… with it as much as possible to figure out what it can and cannot do… my publisher asked for a draft TOC by mid week so I spent some time today getting that together… right now, it’s a 19 chapter book and I’m sure I’ll find some more material that needs to be squeezed in.

So… with that done, I had to go back and re-read Chapter 3… just to get in the mindset.  At the end of Chapter 3, the protagonist just happens to be in a helicopter that is being fired on by an unknown enemy… how’s that for a cliffhanger for chapter 3!?

Chapter 4 looks like it’s going to be another 5+ page chapter, so I was only able to get about half done with it today… I need to think about how I’m going to wrap it up and provide some more critical info… although the story is cruising along, the real action won’t start until chapter 6… I think. Chapter 5 is the last “setup” chapter that will have all the characters in place, the major plot line, and the overall goals for the story.  So, with only Chapters 4 and 5 left to do setup, I’ve got a few things to figure out.  I’ll ponder it tonight and it should all be sorted out by tomorrow.

Word’s today: 695
Words total: 5779
Current Chapter: 4
Pages written today: 4
Pages total: 25
Chapters completed: 3

April 6, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

