James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Tough habit to start…

Why is it that bad habits are so easy to develop but good habits seem to take forever?  Going to the gym, running, whatever… add writing to that list.  I’ve set myself a goal of 5 pages per day, but it’s not easy.  Today I got 4 pages… okay, maybe 3.5… written.  It finished up chapter 4.  I’ve got 25 pages… 4 chapters done.  It feels like it’s never going to be finished.

The one thing I do remember is that my first non-fiction book that I wrote back in 2006 seemed to take forever to finish.  That book took me about 6 months to complete… compare that to my most recent books which have taken me between 3 and 4 months to write… I’ve gotten faster… more organized… and the thought of writing a non-fiction book is not intimdating at all.  So I’m hoping that one day I’ll think the same about writing fiction.  Hopefully, sooner or later, I’ll finish one fiction book and find that the next one goes a little faster… a little easier.

But writing dialogue, plotting out a storyline, and handling descriptions is a lot different than writing computer books.  A totally different method… at least to me.

So, today’s scorecard isn’t too bad:

Hands-On Make: Electronics –  Hoping to redo Experiment 20 tonight… we’ll see.

YA Fiction Book – 4 pages.  Almost hit the minimum… still, pretty happy with just putting something down on paper.

NXT-G Revision – Got the revision done for chapter 13 – (did ch12 yesterday) – 50% done with the book.

Movie Maker Book – Returned 2 copyedited documents with my approval.

March 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

