James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Nose to Grindstone…

I’ve read in a lot of writing books that most writers reach a point where they MUST write every day.  I haven’t reached that point yet – today’s 5 page quota was hard… very hard.  But I got it done.  I’m really hoping that at  some point it’ll become a habit… where if I do NOT write my 5 pages, I’ll be depressed and feel horrible about myself as a person.  Okay, not really… but I am hoping that the 5 pages per day gets a little easier.

I did take the advice of many other books (and Jack McDevitt – see yesterday’s post) and I didn’t do any editing today… I just wrote the story.  A few corrections here and there, but I got it out.  I already know I’m not 100% happy with it and there will likely be changes made, but I’ll do that when I finish the book.  Just get it written and then go back and clean up.

We did get some bad news today, though – my wife’s grandmother passed away last night (in her 80s) and we’ll be leaving shortly for the funeral.  I really do want to try and do some work while I’m gone, but I’ll have to play it by ear.  I’ve informed my editors that I’ll be out for a few days, but I’m really more concerned about not stopping writing with my fiction book.  I’ll try and find some time tomorrow to write those 5 pages… somehow… some way.

All in all, very happy about today’s scorecard:

Hands-On Make: Electronics –  No movement here.  This will definitely have to take a sideline while I’m away.

YA Fiction Book – 5 pages.  I hit my minimum.  I wanted to do more, but it happened to be the end of chapter 2, so I’m feeling good about it.

NXT-G Revision – Got the revision done for chapter 10 – no answer to my technical question from LEGO so I went ahead and finished it and will make a correction if/when I get a reply.

Movie Maker Book – Nothing in the queue for this book today.

March 11, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

