James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

Keeping it all straight…

I learned last year while working on 3 books at once that a little bit of organization goes a long way.  During the writing of a book you’ll submit draft chapters… these in turn will be sent back to you for 2nd draft work.  This isn’t the same as copyedit work – you also get chapters from the copyeditor with fixes to your spelling/grammar and suggested changes.  And with technical books, you’ve also got a technical editor sending back your chapters with errors found or suggestions for improvements.  So, at any given time, I may have 3 or 4 versions of Chapter 1 on my hard drive, each needing to be looked at and returned to their respective editor.

Today was one of those days where keeping it all straight and organized using folders has helped me.  I started out the day doing a revising of an NXT-G chapter – technically, even though the chapter exists because the first edition of the book was printed, this is a new draft chapter (for the second edition).  So I’ve made my updates/fixes and submitted Chapter 11 as first draft.  (I had to skip chapter 10 because I encountered a tech error in the software and have submitted a question to the software team – I’ll submit ch10 when I get that question answered and the text fixed.)

Next, I received two chapters from my copyeditor for the NXT-G book.  I got one of those looked over and sent back.  And at the same time, I received an email from my project editor with three chapters for the MovieMaker book that need author reviews for the technical editor submissions.  Confused yet?  Me, too.

I’ve also got to get working on the Front Matter for Movie Maker – this is the Introduction, dedication page, and the Acknowledgements page.  Not a big document but still something that requires an hour or two.

It’ll be interesting to see today’s scorecard when I post it tonight.

March 10, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

