James Floyd Kelly

Writer and Swashbuckler-for-Hire

A short break…

I’m currently “in between” books – a nice feeling for a change given that a few months ago I had 3 books going at once and felt like I had zero breathing room.  I’ve got a couple of proposals in the works and I requested a month’s delay with the newest LEGO robotics book which my publisher seems to be okay with… I’m guessing my “feeling burned out” comments finally got through to someone.

I’m still writing day-to-day… mainly at GeekDad.com and Makezine.com, but I’ve also got a few small writing projects in the wings for O’Reilly that will become a couple of eBooks for them.

The Toronto newspaper Globe and Mail had a short bit on me this morning along with two other dads.  They found me through the GeekDad blog that pointed them to my other blogs and projects.  You can read that short interview here.

I’m not wanting to wait too long between book projects so I’m going to finish up a good proposal this weekend and submit on Monday… hoping the publisher will like it… we’ll see.

 

 

June 17, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Jim

    Sorry to bug you on this blog. I have been trying to contribute to the Make-Electronics blog over the past month but all I see is that my comment must be approved by the administrator first. I’m not sure if the comments are even getting through to you. Has that blog been “closed” to comments? It sounds like you are pretty busy so maybe you just have not had time yet. Please let me know if you have seen any of my comments.

    Sincerely

    Stephen

    Comment by Stephen Fisher | June 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi, Stephen.

      No, I’ve not closed comments, but I’ll go check and see what’s going on.

      Jim

      Comment by jamesfloydkelly | June 27, 2011 | Reply

  2. Sorry to leave this reply here, but I can’t seem to find a way to solve this. I bought your book (Lego Mindstorms NXT 2.0 The King’s Treasure), and I’ve been trying to get the electronic design worksheet and code. Unfortunately, I can’t find it on the publisher’s website nor anywhere else on the web. I contacted the publisher two weeks ago, but despite repeated requests I’ve gotten no response from them. I can’t find any other place to find help. I’m trying to work on this with my son, but it feels like the publisher is making this unnecessarily difficult. I suppose I can recreate the design document, but it just doesn’t seem right that I would have to. After working with great publishers like the Pragmatic Programmer, working with Apress has been severely underwhelming. If anyone can help me with this I would be grateful.

    Comment by seanrich42 | May 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi, Sean.

      Sorry to hear you’re having trouble with Apress. I provided them with the worksheet and some sample code (not all of it) over a year ago… maybe closer to 2 years. I’ll ask my editor if they have those files somewhere as I’ve archived them and will need to spend some time hunting them down. I believe I can find you the worksheet and will try to do that shortly — my email is jktechwriter@gmail.com — shoot me an email so I can reply with the worksheet (I use it for other books, so I think I know where to get it). I’ll see what I can find out about the code.

      Comment by jamesfloydkelly | May 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

